Tamagoyaki

20130908-085525.jpg

This recipe will change your life.

Ok, I miiiight be being a bit dramatic here!

But in all seriousness, this is one of my fabourite sides. Tamagoyaki is a Japanese sweet omelette made of egg, dashi and sugar.
It’s super delicious – Fluffy, sweet and light!
Some people don’t add the dashi stock, but I highly recommend adding it as it gives such a great flavour!

My mums been making this ever since I was a child, so it’s really a childhood favourite of mine! I can’t really take credit for this recipe, but I feel like it needs to be shared. I hope you enjoy it as much as me! 🙂

Ps. Sorry for the random photos, I was too hungry so it was a bit of a quick ‘photo shoot’ 😛

20130908-083959.jpg

Tamagoyaki gluten free, dairy free
Serves 3

3 medium eggs
3 tbsp liquid dashi stock
2 tbsp brown sugar
Tiny pinch of salt
Sunflower oil (or any neutral oil)

Mix all ingredients apart from oil.

Heat up your pan and once it’s hot add sunflower oil, then lower heat.

Pour 1/3 of the egg mix in the pan.

Fold it over itself and press against the edge of the pan. Pour in another 1/3 of the mix and fold the egg the other way (so the egg ‘roll’ ends up on the other side).

Repeat until all mixture is gone.

Optional: Roll in bamboo sushi mat to get a perfect square shape.

Leave to cool for a few minutes then cut.

2 thoughts on “Tamagoyaki

Leave a comment