Chicken, Kale & Coconut Rice

Chicken, Kale & Coconut Rice | Add A Little

I remember seeing this recipe yeeears ago on Tracy’s blog and wanted to try it for so long.
I don’t know why I didn’t, I guess I never go round to it as I didn’t have all the ingredients on hand yada yada yada.
But the, I finally made it and OMG BEST DECISION EVER!

Chicken, Kale & Coconut Rice | Add A Little

Chicken, Kale & Coconut Rice | Add A Little

Such an easy, healthy meal: tender chicken thighs (they’re more flavourful than their breast counterpart), garlicky kale and crunchy toasted coconut, all on steaming hot brown rice. Comfort food at its finest.

Chicken, Kale & Coconut Rice | Add A Little

Chicken, Kale & Coconut Rice dairy free, gluten free
Serves 2

This is one of my new go to meals, adapted from Shutterbean‘s Kale Salad w/ Coconut and Sesame Oil. Quick, easy and super delicious – what more could you want?! You can use left over chicken to make things even speedier and you can also make this into a fried rice situation by dumping everything into a wok.

2 chicken thighs, cooked and shredded (you can poach, bake or pan fry them)
A few handfuls of kale
Thick coconut chips (unsweetened)
1 garlic clove
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil (or coconut oil if you want more flavour)
Salt and pepper (you can also substitute for soy sauce)
Sesame oil, for drizzling
Brown rice (you can also use quinoa, white rice, farro etc)

notes: to make this vegan, simple omit the chicken, you can eat it as is or add tempeh or tofu (which you may want to marinade in soy sauce, chilli flakes and sesame oil and bake till crispy.

Heat a dry pan and add coconut chips.
Frequently stir around so that they don’t burn.

Once browned, put in a bowl and set on the side.

Heat oil in a pan and add garlic and kale and cook the kale has started to wilt.

Add the shredden chicken and keep cooking until hot and kale has started to brown.

Drizzle the kale and chicken with sesame oil for extra flavour.

Serve ingredients on top of rice and dig in!

Chicken, Kale & Coconut Rice | Add A Little

 

16 thoughts on “Chicken, Kale & Coconut Rice

  1. Millie I came to visit after you left a comment on my blog and I’m super impressed! My teenagers were helpers with me and are now great cooks but their photo skills would not have compared!

    I’m not a big kale fan but more because it’s been so overdone so not really a fair judgement is it? You might have swayed me to give it a shot; no fried chips here! 🙂

    1. Thank you so much Barb for the lovely comment!
      I hope you like the recipe – you can always use spinach or another dark leafy green instead! I just think the bitter kale goes well with the sweet coconut 🙂

  2. Oh yum Millie! Those big coconut flakes on top are making my mouth water, so healthy and delicious, love it!!

Leave a comment