Review: 26 Grains

Review: 26 Grains | Add A LittleI love porridge. Like seriously adore it. It’s pretty much a hug in a bowl and with so many different toppings to choose, the combinations are endless!

I heard about 26 Grains when it first opened and was intrigued by the concept of a café solely dedicated to porridge: it sounded amazing.
They are nestled in the wonderful Neal’s Yard and offer a selection of sweet and savoury porridges (as well as a few other dishes). The menu is the perfect size, offering plethora of choices.

We started off with the matcha almond milk lattes which were  so delicious. I’ve recently been getting into matcha lattes since I’m not the biggest fan of coffee and they are delicious, especially when made with almond milk that gives them a natural sweetness to offset the ‘green’ taste of the matcha!

Then we were onto the good stuff!

Review: 26 Grains | Add A Little

We settled for a savoury porridge bowl with kale, avocado, egg and sriracha. I had a bit of the creamy oats that were perfectly seasoned. Although the bowl itself may not seem too filling, looks can be deceiving! It was the perfect comforting bowl and savoury porridge is something that I’ve loved for a while. For those you haven’t tried it, it’s like a Japanese rice porridge or congee.

Review: 26 Grains | Add A Little

My dish filled with rainbows and textures. Amazing is an understatement. It was like an explosion in your mouth, in the best possible way.
The bowl was filled with quinoa, turmeric roasted cauliflower, samphire, pickles and the best beetroot hummus ever. I’m drooling just thinking about it now! I mean, the bowl really says it all.
I would highly recommend this bowl, I would travel there again just to get my hands on it.

I can’t believe I hadn’t gone to 26 grains earlier because although the concept sounds simple, it’s far from it! I can’t wait to go back and try the waffles and the buckwheat wrap *heart eye emoji*
Here’s the full menu for those of you that are interested!

Review: 26 Grains | Add A Little

26 Grains
Website: www.26grains.com
Address: 2 Neal’s Yard, London WC2H 9DP
Opening Hours: Monday – Thursday: 8am-6pm, Friday: 8am-5pm, Saturday and Sunday: 10am-4pm

3 thoughts on “Review: 26 Grains

Leave a comment